Get a free proposal


Get a free proposal


Online Quran Academy - Islamic Mentors
  1. Home
  2. »
  3. Blog
  4. »
  5. Tawheed: The First Pillar of Islam

Tawheed: The First Pillar of Islam

Tawheed: The First Pillar of Islam
“Tawheed, Islam’s first pillar, is the cornerstone of monotheism, asserting God’s unique and supreme qualities. It forms the basis of Islamic set of beliefs, emphasizing exclusive devotion to God.”


Tawhid is an Arabic word that means “making one” or “declare oneness”. Tawheed the first pillar of Islam it is the core belief of Islam that there is only one God, Allah, and no other God besides him. Muslims declare this belief in the shahada, the witness of faith: “There is no God but Allah and Muhammad(SAW) is His prophet.” Tawhid also implies that Allah is unique, independent, as one, and only to anything in his creation. He is the source of all existence, power, and knowledge. Tawhid is the foundation of Islamic religion,  idea, and Sufism. It guides Muslims to worship Allah alone and to avoid IDOL worship, Shirk, and relate anything with him. Tawhid is the essence of Islam and the key to forgiveness. Allah Almighty has clearly stated that those who believe in more than one God are disbelievers:


Verses from Quran

Indeed are disbelievers those who say, ‘Indeed Allah is the third from amongst the three gods.’ And there is no god except the One God (Allah), and if they do not abstain from what they are saying; so, those amongst them who will die as disbeliever, a painful punishment will definitely reach them. (Surah Al-Maa’idah, Verse 73)

In the Holy Quran, the deeds of those who deny the theory of Tawheed are described as like being ashes which are blown away by the wind leaving no sign or trace behind whatever. In this regard, Allah Almighty says:

The state of those who disbelieve in their Lord is such that their deeds are like ash, upon which a strong blast of wind came on a stormy day; they got nothing from all that they earned; this is deep Misdirection. ( Surah Ibraheem, Verse 18)

Importance of Tawheed

The importance of Tawheed can also be determine from the fact that all divine religions are based on Tawheed and it is the first pillar of Islam. All the Prophets عَـلَيْـهِمُ الـسَّـلَام were sent to preach this very belief of Tawheed, as Allah Almighty says:

And We did not send any Messenger before you but We would reveal to him that, ‘There is no god except Me; hence, only worship Me.(Surah Al-Ambiya, Verse 25)

Allah did not take any child, nor is there any other god with Him; if it was so, each god would have taken away his creation, and each one would certainly seek advantage over the other. Purity is to Allah from those things which they fake. ( Surah Al-Mu’minoon, Verse 91)

In another place, Allah Almighty said:

And Allah has announced, ‘Do not take two gods. Indeed, He is the only One God; so, fear only Me.’ (Surah An-Nahl, Verse 51)

Categories of Tawheed

Allah brings up the subject of His Unity a lot of times. Allah affirm Tawheed because Tawheed is the first pillar of Islam and it is the basis of religion. It is Necessary for a Muslim to believe in this concept. Now let’s talk about how this concept is divided into three types.

Tawheed Asmaa wa Sifaat

The Names and Attributes of Allah (Asmaa wa Sifaat) is one of the types by which Allah makes known what His Names and Attributes are. Thus, it is a great favor to know more about Allah since it fortify the Eman of a Muslim.

Allah! There is no god worthy of worship except Him, the Ever-Living, All-Sustaining. Neither Drowsiness nor sleep overtakes Him. To Him belongs whatever is in the heavens and whatever is on the earth. Who could possibly Intercession with Him without His permission? (Surah Al-Baqarah, 255)

He ˹fully˺ knows what is ahead of them and what is behind them, but no one can grasp any of His knowledge—except what He wills ˹to reveal˺. His Seat surrounded the heavens and the earth, and the protection of both does not tire Him. For He is the Most High, the Greatest. (Surah Al-Baqarah, 255)

Allah! There is no god worthy of worship except Him—the Ever-Living, All-Sustaining. ( Surah Al-Imran, 2)

Allah – there is no deity except Him. To Him belong the best names. (Surah Taha, 8)

Tawheed Rububiyyah

Tawheed Rububiyyah is the belief that Allah (SWT) is the only Lord of the universe. He alone has the power to create, sustain, provide and control everything. It is one of the type of Tawheed, which means the Oneness of Allah. Tawheed Rububiyyah is based on the nature (fitrah) that Allah has created people upon, and also on the reasonable arguments that prove His existence and feature. Tawheed Rububiyyah is mentioned in many verses of the Quran.

Their Prophets asked them, “Is there any doubt about Allah, the Originator of the heavens and the earth? He is invite you in order to forgive your sins, and delay your end until your recommend term.”

They argued, “You are no more than humans like us! You ˹only˺ wish to turn us away from what our ancestors worshiped. So bring us some impressive proof. (Surah Ibrahim, 10)

If you ask them ˹O Prophet˺ who created the heavens and the earth, they will certainly say, “The Almighty, All-Knowing did.” (al-Zukhruf, 9)

Moses replied, “You know well that none has sent these ˹signs˺ down except the Lord of the heavens and the earth as insights. And I really think that you, O Pharaoh, are doomed.” (al-Isra’, 102)

Tawheed Uluhiyyah

Tawheed Uluhiyyah is the form of Tawheed that is the first pillar of Islam about the worship of Allah alone. It means that all acts of worship, such as prayer, Dua, sacrifice, fear, hope, love and follow belong only to Allah and no one else. Uluhiyyah is an Arabic term that entails the worship of Allah. It is not enough to believe that Allah is the Creator and that He has different Names and Attributes. A person must also worship Him alone and not associate any partners with Him in worship. This is the essence of Islam and the meaning of the Shahada (the testimony of faith).

When people are touched with difficult, they cry out to their Lord, turning to Him ˹alone˺. But as soon as He gives them a taste of His mercy, a group of them associates others with their Lord in worship. (SURAH AR-RUM AYAT 33)

They abandon their beds, calling their Lord with hope and fear, and donate from what We have provided for them. (Surah As-Sajdah-16)

So call upon Allah with sincere devotion, even to the dismay of the disbelievers. (Surah Ghafir, 14)

Your Lord has announced, “Call upon Me, I will respond to you. Surely those who are too proud to worship Me will enter Hell, fully humbled.” (Surah Ghafir, 60)


Tawheed the first pillar of Islam is the core concept of Islamic monotheism, which affirms the oneness and quality of God. It is the foundation of the Islamic faith and the basis of all Islamic teachings. Tawheed implies that nothing can be compared to God, nothing can be related with God, and nothing can be worshipped besides God. Tawheed also means that God is the only source of power, authority, and teaching for humanity. Tawhid is the ultimate goal of every Muslim, to achieve a sincere and complete submission to God alone.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x